

Finance and Administration Committee Record of Proceeding November 30, 2020

The Finance and Administration Committee met virtually via zoom on Monday, November 30, 2020. Those in attendance included: Chairperson Barb McGuinness, Ward I; Council Committee Member Mary Ann Mastorakos, Ward II; Council Committee Member Michael Moore, Ward III; Council Committee Member Tom DeCampi, Ward IV; and Finance Director Jeannette Kelly. Those also in attendance included: Mayor Bob Nation, Councilmember Mary Monachella, Councilmember Dan Hurt, Councilmember Ben Keathley, City Administrative Administrator Mike Geisel. Assistant to the Citv Administrator/Deputy City Clerk Amanda Miller and Director of Planning Justin Wyse.

Chairperson Barb McGuinness called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the October 27, 2020 Finance and Administration Meeting of the Whole were submitted for approval. Councilmember Moore made a motion, seconded by Councilmember McGuinness to approve the October 27, 2020 Finance and Administration Meeting of the Whole minutes. A vote was taken with a unanimous affirmative result and the motion was declared passed.

Preliminary Funding Agreement

Councilmember McGuinness discussed the preliminary funding agreement. This agreement obligates the petitioner to make an initial deposit of \$17,000 and cover any/all costs to review their portion on their behalf. Councilmember McGuinness stated that it should not be the responsibility of the tax payers to pay this cost. Discussion ensued.

Councilmember Moore made a motion to approve the agreement with Wildhorse for the legal assistance associated with any pending CIDs. Mr. Geisel clarified that this is unrelated to any vote on the actual specific CID petition, as this is just to approve the funding agreement for the petitioner to pay the City's legal costs. The motion died due to lack of a second.

Councilmember Moore made a motion, seconded by Councilmember McGuinness to approve the funding agreement with the purpose of paying our legal bills. Discussion ensued. A roll call vote was taken; Councilmember DeCampi; Nay, Councilmember Moore; Aye, Councilmember Mastorakos; Nay, Councilmember McGuinness, Nay. The motion failed and the Preliminary Funding Agreement will not be forwarded to Council. Councilmember McGuinness wanted to let the petitioner know we need additional information.

Citizen of the Year Selection

City Administrator Mike Geisel reminded the committee that they had directed staff to prepare recommendations for updating the Citizen of the Year selection committee. The primary problem with the originally defined composition of this committee, was while it reflected appointments from the Council originally, there was not a mechanism to ensure that the membership was reflective of the elected officials on an ongoing basis. There was no mechanism to keep the membership up to date and current and to ensure they were representative of the current council. Further, the members of this committee were given very limited, singular direction and purpose. There was no ongoing purpose, engagement or interactivity with the City. Accordingly, the connection with the City, in awarding the annual Citizen of the Year, could become tenuous and disjointed. In order to create a committee that is continuously involved, engaged, and is perpetually refreshed, Mr. Geisel recommended that the selection committee be reconstituted primarily with members of active City Committees, as an adjunct assignment for the chair or their designee on an annual basis.

The following committee Chairs would be asked to serve, or to designate a committee member to serve on the Citizen of the Year Selection Committee to determine the annual award:

Planning Commission Parks, Recreation and Arts Citizens Advisory Committee Board of Adjustment Architectural Review Board Finance and Administration Citizens Advisory Committee Police Personnel Board

In addition, to broaden the scope of potential nominees and encourage community involvement, the Mayor would nominate a member at large to the selection committee. Finally, the two, most recent available prior recipients of the Citizen of the Year Award would complete the committee, for a total of nine members.

Councilmember McGuinness made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Moore to approve the Citizen of the Year Selection Committee and forward to Council.

Councilmember Mastorakos made a motion, seconded by Councilmember McGuinness to amend the original motion by adding two additional representatives; one each from the Citizens Committee for the Environment and Chesterfield Historic Landmarks and Preservation Committee and forward to Council. A vote was taken with a unanimous affirmative result and the motion was declared passed.

A vote was taken on the original motion to approve the Citizen of the year committee, as amended, with a unanimous affirmative result and the motion was declared passed.

Political Signs

Councilmember McGuinness recommended that the current restrictions relative to political signage be amended to clarify the intent of the requirement to remove the signs within a time period after the election.

Councilmember McGuinness made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Mastorakos to revise the City's Code to specify "signs to be removed seven days after the election period" and to draft an ordinance to go to Council. A vote was taken with a unanimous affirmative result and the motion was declared passed.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Jeannette Kelly Finance Director Vickie McGownd City Clerk

Approved: _____